liver enzyme ALT still elevated :(

chubbybunnymax

Reaction score
Hi all,

I hope everyone had a wonderful summer! I'm looking forward to the cooler temperatures so little Maximus could play outside more.

I've been MIA since Maximus went to the ER in June and we found out his ALT was elevated (up to 800!). He had the biles acid test done as well as an ultrasound that came out pretty normal. We took him off his raw diet and started home cooking. We are checking periodically his ALT levels and they still remain high so I finally caved and Maximus is now on a course of antibiotics.

I was wondering if anyone else went through this - elevated liver enzyme in asymptomatic dog. We are holding off on the neuter surgery and trying to find out what is actually causing his enzymes to elevate. So stressed...

IMG_0395.JPG

blushy

Reaction score
Aw poor sweetie! Things wrong with no answers in sight is such a rough thing!

I wish I could help you but I have no experience with this! I'm sure someone here may have an idea!

Stop worrying your family, Max!

MaplesMommy

Reaction score
Sorry to hear this :(

Have you heard about Milk Thistle? It helps rebuild liver cells and detoxes the liver. It is known to lower elevated liver enzymes.
There is also a product made by Dr. Mercola called Kidney & Liver support. You might want to look into this as well.

Out of curiostity : Why did the vet prescribe antibiotics?

Alice Kable

Reaction score
I am so sorry to hear about this problem. Hopefully the answer to lowering those levels will be found soon.

chubbybunnymax

Reaction score
Sorry to hear this :(

Have you heard about Milk Thistle? It helps rebuild liver cells and detoxes the liver. It is known to lower elevated liver enzymes.
There is also a product made by Dr. Mercola called Kidney & Liver support. You might want to look into this as well.

Out of curiostity : Why did the vet prescribe antibiotics?