Crates crates crates!

FindBehr

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I wanted opinions on crates.

What size is good for your Frenchies?
Did you have to buy a larger crate when the dog became an adult?
Are there any brands you would recommend? Not recommend?

Thanks!!

FindBehr

Reaction score
Second thought- Is there a benefit to having a double door crate vs. a single door?

This is my first time crate training so any other thoughts are helpful– Thanks again!

Tgirl

Reaction score
You don't want anything too big for a puppy. You don't want them to feel like they can go potty on one side and sleep on the other. Too much room and they are more likely to soil in there. As far as what type of crate I have a giant pet taxi type for both of my smallish dogs (they share it) It's not that I prefer it really, it's just what I already had from years ago. They are trained now but sleep in it at night. They go in without being told when they are ready for bed :)

Debra

Reaction score
I have the wire crates. Junies is just big enough for her to turn around. It does have 2 doors, but I just use the 1. She has a mighty comfy bed in hers & snuggles in nicely. I am a huge fan of crate training for many reasons. It is there safe spot, if they have to be kept quiet (EX:for vetting purposes), its a nice way to help in potty training, when you are at work you wont have to worry they are getting in trouble. It is one of the best things you can do for you & for your dog :)
I had a couple rescues that were not crate trained & it was a challenge to keep them confined when necessary.

WilbursDad

Reaction score
We got this one for our pup: Midwest iCrate Single-Door Home Training and Travel Series (30 x 19 x 21)

We put a divider giving him just enough room for him to lay comfortably and will slowly expanding his space as he gets bigger and knows not to pee or poo in there. So far so good. I've attached a picture of our setup.
IMG_0920.jpg

Tgirl

Reaction score