I am new to the French Bulldog Forum and my Frenchie needs help please

turkeypets

Reaction score
Hi i am happy to be a part of this forum to help my Frenchie Hansel live a better life and share my experiences with having owned two Frenchies since 2003. My current Frenchie named Hansel has been having the worst skin problems of his life since October 2023.
He had fleas last year i think it was August. Well, we have all our pets on Frontline for him and Revolt for the kitties.
I will attach a picture or two of his skin, i have been taking them every month. I have tried Zymox shampoo, then Veterinary Formula Clinical Care Antiseptic and Antiifungal Medicated Shampoo, then Veterinary Formula Clinical Care Antiparasitic & Antiseborrheic Medicated Dog Shampoo, then Davis Maximum Chlorhexidine 4% Shampoo now for a week. I just gave him his second bath with the Davis, his first was last week March 25. When i bathed him then i did it once, the directions say for best results repeat after the first time, so i did it twice this morning.
Here is what his skin looked like Februrary 29. This is what he has been having but he has had some spots that look black that was back in January.
The vet has had him on Clindamycin and then Simplicef with Prednisone back in January and Februaury , then Cephalexin in March with Predinsone and gave him a shot of Cytopoint on February 22. I saw his skin get better but not that much.
I decided to try a shampoo that my vet didnt recommend to see what would happen, the Veterinary Formula Clinical Care Antiparasitic & Antiseborrheic Medicated Dog Shampoo it has Salicylic acid, coal tar, sulfur and oatmeal in it. His skin looked better than ever after a bath with that shampoo. It shedded the yellow around the spots and i didnt see as many new spots anymore. Then about a week later i started seeing new spots and used the shampoo again but it didnt help.

2-29-24 skin.JPG

This picture is from September last year.
IMG_2525.JPG