Elevated Liver Enzyme - need help!

chloe chloe

Reaction score
Our dog is 3 yo and has elevated ALT but is asymptomatic. We have used Denamarin and it went down then it went up again at the next test - no change in diet or behavior between the two tests. We feed her raw food and she gets exercise, is healthy, and happy. We had an ultrasound to rule out a shunt and now the vet is suggesting EXPLORATORY SURGERY!!

Is it possible that high ALT is "normal" for some dogs and doesn't affect their longevity? For the other posters here, can you please share the final diagnosis (or cause) that resulted in a cure?

We are at our wits end and want to do the right thing for our dog without subjecting her to unnecessary procedures.

Thank you for any suggestions you have!

2bullymama

Staff member
Reaction score
So sorry this is happening... I have no experience but send you lots of poitive thoughts

Honeys Owners

Reaction score
Our dog is 3 yo and has elevated ALT but is asymptomatic. We have used Denamarin and it went down then it went up again at the next test - no change in diet or behavior between the two tests. We feed her raw food and she gets exercise, is healthy, and happy. We had an ultrasound to rule out a shunt and now the vet is suggesting EXPLORATORY SURGERY!!

Is it possible that high ALT is "normal" for some dogs and doesn't affect their longevity? For the other posters here, can you please share the final diagnosis (or cause) that resulted in a cure?

We are at our wits end and want to do the right thing for our dog without subjecting her to unnecessary procedures.

Thank you for any suggestions you have!

Depends on how high... If all the blood tests were negative for auto immune diseases and the ALT wasn't too high I wouldn't worry. If it was really high I would think next test would be a liver biopsy rather than an exploratory surgery.

FroxerMom

Reaction score
I have no experience with this with any of my dogs past or present, but hope she is okay!