POTTY TRAINING!

jacs20

Reaction score
Im new to this. I just got a 10 week old Frenchy i live in an apartment and, i have his crate in my kitchen with his door open however when its time to go bed he doesnt like to be locked in there with his bed so i leave it open throughout the night. I wake up to pee and poop on my kitxhen floor lol. I leave the puppy pads near the door so he can know to go by the door so i know he needs to go. That isnt working to well lol. I bring him outside 15 mins after he eats in the morning at 830am.

I also just left him in the kitchen with the crate open and puppy pads so i can go to work but i know when i go home there will be pee and poop on my kitchen floor.

What do i do!? Lol im scared. Im a new fur mom. Meet Max.

89f389f1769c278ca29fc4b5ffa38be0.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mattcantwin

Reaction score
Welcome!

He is still quite young, but it’s good that he comes out of the crate to pee and poop.

Is there a way to restrict an area around the crate so the smaller area has pads on the floor?

Cbrugs

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome!

10 weeks is very young and should not be expected to hold it throughout the night. The general rule of thumb is they can hold it for however many months they are plus 1 hour. And this is just a general guideline so some may be able to hold it longer and some shorter. Are you taking her out every few hours during the night? If not, that is why he is peeing and pooping in the kitchen.

Generally, for potty training you will want to take them out immediately after napping or playing, about 20 minutes after eating or drinking and then every couple of hours. And then give high praise and a high value treat any time you take him out and he pees/poops where you want him to. Consistency and patience is the key. I think generally they are potty trained around 5 or 6 months if you are consistent but again, some might take longer to "get it."

2bullymama

Staff member
Reaction score