10 week old puppy won't sleep at night

pdepierre

Reaction score
I am new to the Frenchie breed and we have an 10 week old puppy. We have had him for 2 1/2 weeks and he is adjusting great except at night. We have him crated at night and he won't sleep for more than 2 hours at a time - often as little as 45 minutes - without waking up crying. We are getting up so he can potty and each time he does squeeze out a little, but it doesn't seem like that is what he needs. We are limiting water after 7 pm., the crate has the top and 2 sides covered with a blanket, and he has a full belly. We have owned Mastiffs before and they slept through the night by this age, or at most only got up once. Is this just the way it is with this breed, and if so how old are they before they sleep all the way through?

Dreamer

Reaction score
he could be adjusting to being alone - my frenchie was ~14 weeks when we brought him home and he would indeed wake up at least once per night to potty but also he would cry a lot- especially during the first couple of weeks, since before then he'd always been in a group with his litter mates. It must have been quite the change for him! Some things that helped us through it: I moved the crate on top of my nightstand so it was facing me, so he could be very close and not feel alone (this helped the most). I found quiet/soothing music (we did classical on low volume) also helped settle him down. Give them treats every time they go in the crate and move the crate to the primary space during the day & feed them their meals in the crate - basically associate all things positive with the crate.

Cbrugs

Staff member
Reaction score