Hello from Washington State

Tommi

Reaction score
Hi there, my name is Naomi and I'm new to French Bulldog ownership. I've been interested in the breed for about decade, and after our sweet senior dog passed away in 2014 I decided to finally look into bringing one home. After tracking down the right breeder and waiting about year, he's finally home! Tommi will be 10 weeks on Christmas eve. Our household is simply head over heels for this little narcoleptic piglet! He's primarily going to be my companion dog to accompany me just about everywhere, but will also likely compete with him in obedience and possibly agility, in addition to conformation so long as he doesn't fall apart.

He's super food motivated and has great focus, which is making my job a breeze. Working on potty training which is a bit more challenging this time of year with weather as he thinks standing in the rain isn't too fun. He has a crate bedside, and last night he slept solid with no cries. However, if he realizes I left the room there's still a lot of protest. He's also learning the basics such as: name, recall, sit, stay, down, front, finish, wait. Mostly marking behaviors right now with a tiny piece of kibble pressed between fingers for him to follow and rewarding on him glancing up for eye contact. Haven't introduced a leash yet. Pretty impressed on how quick he's picking things up, to be quite frank I expected much less of him based off age and breed. I got a video clip of his just-learned recall from approx 20ft yesterday, really proud (and surprised) that he actually seems to be quite clever. He has a good sit and down, doing lots of puppy push ups which is about the cutest darn thing I've ever seen. Yet, he's still SUCH a baby and suckles in his sleep. Just the easiest and most affectionate puppy I've ever had, wants to snuggle 24/7.. beyond happy with him.

Why I'm here: